Tuesday, 18 May 2010

Droppin’ Science w/ Kidkanevil @ Vibe Bar June 5th 2010

Droppin’ Science is back to rock the Vibe Bar on Saturday June 5th.

This time we’re joined on the turntables by First Word Record’s very own Kidkanevil.

A bit about KidKanevil… Hailing from Tokyorkshire, DJ/Producer Kidkanevil first came to prominence with the release of his critically acclaimed debut album ‘Problems & Solutions’ back in 2007, and has since gone from strength to strength.

Now three albums deep, his latest LP ‘Basho Basho’ was released earlier this year to great critical acclaim! Check it out over at: http://kidkanevil.bandcamp.com/

KidK is fresh from a stint at this year’s Red Bull Music Academy and ready to unleash a barrage of new music and collaborations on the world. His unique productions & club-quaking DJ sets show influence of hip hop, dubstep, jungle & more!

“By far one of the UK’s most original producers.” – Hip Hop Connection

“5/5″ – DJ magazine

“Something truly memorable.” – URB

“Hip-hop genius.” – ATM

“A sonic visionary.” – iDJ

“Basho Basho deserves to put kidkanevil right up there with Flying Lotus.” – Knowledge Magazine

“Thunderous…a vivid display of dexterous beat construction and cultural experimentation. An incredible amount of character bubbles at the surface of evey track.” – okayplayer

“Sparse constellations of lethally-sharpened drum sounds flying around the listener act as a single structure of seemingly impossible strength.” – Wire Magazine

As always your Droppin’ Science heavyweight residents Matman, Nickname & Daredevil will also be on-hand to tear up the dance!

Vibe Bar, Brick Lane April 3 2010 8pm – 1am

Click ‘attending’ on the Facebook Event here.

Don’t sleep on what’s now become one of East London’s liveliest Hip Hop parties.

- – -

To keep up with everything Droppin’ Science, visit our blog: http://www.droppinscience.co.uk Follow Droppin’ Science on Twitter: http://twitter.com/droppin_science Join the Droppin’ Science Group to keep up with all other events.

Big-up our sponsors: Getting Rich Is No Dream (clothes): http://www.gettingrichisnodream.com/ King Underground (records): http://www.kingunderground.com

Saturday, 8 May 2010

DJ Matman - Fresh Cuts Radio April/May 2010

Droppin' Science & Getting Rich Is No Dream Clothing presents...
Fresh Cuts Radio April/May 2010 edition, hosted & mixed by DMC Champ DJ Matman.

Part mixtape, part knowledge, all fresh! Nothing but the very latest in underground hip-hop music.

Download/stream from podomatic or click the link below to subscribe:

Also available on Mixcloud.com & coming soon to Sensei.fm.


01. Matman & Daredevil – Fresh Cuts Radio Intro
02. Jay Electronica ft. Diddy - The Ghost of Christopher Wallace
03. Roc C ft. Illa J - Turn It Up
04. Kali ft. Termanology - Higher
05. Samiyam - Fishsticks
06. Ill Bill - Gangsta Rap (Daredevil Remix)
07. Roots Manuva - Snake Bite
08. Big Boi - Shutterbug
09. Rampage ft. Craig Mack - You Won't Be around
10. Lord Nez & DJ Premier - See Me
11. Joell Ortizz & DJ Premier - Project Boy
12. Madlib - Episode XVI
13. Murs & 9th Wonder - Asian Girl
14. Kida ft. Freeway - The Change Up (Changed up)
15. Little Brother ft. Chaundon - So Cold
16. Daredevil - Electron
17. Yu (of Diamond District) - Native
18. Alchemist ft. Havoc - More Keys
19. Gangstarr - Ex To The Next Girl (Instrumental)
20. Diaz Brothers ft. Soni - Gone Too Soon
21. Ty ft. Shaun Escoffery & Finn Peters - Falling